110 Kilograms

April 18, 2006

After being discouraged by my slowing rate of weight loss, I've been very slack over the last five or six weeks. My trial membership at the gym expired, and while I had evey intention of joining up for twelve months, I started making excuses for myself — it's a big financial comittment, and I still wasn't sure I'd really make use of the gym for the whole next year.

Things got worse when I wrecked my bike by falling off it while drunk. I was still walking to work, but was driving in at least a couple of times each week. I was eating badly, my exercise dropped right off, and I started getting sick.

A couple of weeks ago, I signed up for a twelve month membership at the gym on Errol Street, but I've been a bit lazy there too, so you can imagine that I was expecting the worst when I stepped onto the scales at my new gym.

But, lo and behold, I'd actually lost weight since the last time I'd weighed myself. It's true that I'd never used these scales before, but if you can't trust those huge, hospital-grade scales, who can you trust?

Hopefully now that I have access to a good set of scales, future weight updates won't be quite so up-and-down.

Leave a Reply

