K750i — First Impressions

February 9, 2006

I tried out a K750i out last night. The joystick did feel a little temperamental, but I think I could get used to it.

What concerned me a little more is the number of buttons on the thing that control the various functions. Like a Nokia, there’s a left and a right function key, and they both have a label that appears on the little screen and changes depending on what you’re doing. Then there’s a ↩ key, a C key and another one that looks like the offsite link symbol in Wikipedia.

I guess that the last one is a shortcut to the main menu, but I’ve got no idea what the other two do. I imagine the C stands for “clear”, “cancel” and “crap, I didn’t mean to do that”, but that’s also what I’d expect a ↩ key to do, too. It looks like “take me back”, or “undo that last thing”.

Maybe ↩ is supposed to be analogous to an Enter key. If that was the case, wouldn’t it be easier to mark the buttons Yes and No, or colour them green or red, or mark them with little thumbs up and thumbs down symbols, or a happy face and a smily face… anything other than C and ↩.

The camera was even better than I’d imagined. You slide open the lens cap and you go straight into camera mode, so there’s no fucking around in the phone’s menus.

Oh, and the phone had a tennis game on it by Sega that reminded me of Virtua Tennis. It was very impressive. Maybe I’ll be able to get Doom for my mobile phone now.

Leave a Reply

